Netherlands confirm WC squad

Aston Villa captain Ron Vlaar has been included in the Netherlands squad for the upcoming World Cup in Brazil.


The defender was named in the preliminary squad for the 2010 showpiece only to miss the final cut, and therefore will be turning out at his first World Cup.

The Dutch squad boats a number of English-based players, with Vlaar joined by goalkeepers Tim Krul (Newcastle) and Michel Vorm (Swansea), midfielders Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea) and Leroy Fer (Norwich City), and striker Robin van Persie (Manchester United).

Louis van Gaal was denied the services of Rafael van der Vaart due to injury, but with Arjen Robben and Wesley Sneijder still available to pull the strings in the midfield, Oranje look a potent force.

The Netherlands find themselves in a challenging Group B alongside defending champions Spain, Chile and Australia.

Netherlands’ 23-man World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers:Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City)

Defenders: Daley Blind (Ajax), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Joel Veltman (Ajax)

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United)