Mahrez, Mane make African FOTY list

Riyad Mahrez (Leicester), Emerick Aubameyang (Borrusia Dortmund), Sadio Mane(Liverpool),Andre Ayew (West Ham) and Yaya Toure, (Manchester City) all made the five man shortlist in line to win BBC African Footballer of the year award. 

Algerian forward Mahrez is the only player not to have been nominated before, Liverpool and Senegal striker Mane made his debut on the shortlist last year, and Manchester City’s Ivorian midfielder Toure has featured for eight consecutive years and is a two-time winner and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang having featured on the list four times as well. 

The 2016 recipient of the award will be announced on Monday, 12 December, live on BBC Focus on Africa TV and radio.