Things we learnt vs Burundi – Juwon

My take from the game on Saturday, It isn’t ideal to judge a team based on its first game in a tournament of such magnitude, but three points gained against debutants isn’t such a bad thing. Not forgetting that Burundi had a very impressive run during the qualifying rounds. Goalkeeping position is

AFCON: It will be difficult selecting the final 23, Rohr admits

Super Eagles Coach, Gernot Rohr has praised the level of competition exhibited by the players in camp and remains committed to name the best 23 legs to represent the country at the Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.   Speaking just after the close of Thursday’s training session, the Franco-German revealed that

Sadio Mane Headlines Senegal 23 Man List For AFCON

Senegal football team’s coach Aliou Cissé has named his squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations scheduled to begin later this month in Egypt. While the squad boasts of some big-name players who are contracted to teams in top European leagues, other stars have been left out of the squad. Among

Algeria Name Final AFCON Squad

The Desert Foxes of Algeria gaffer, Djamel Belmadi has released a list of 23 players to represent the nation for the 2009 African Nations Cup and as reported, Hicham Boudaoui who plays for Algiers Paradou club in Algeria remains the only local player invited. Djamel Belmadi strung a few surprises on

Guinea Agree To Host AFCON 2025

Confederation of African Football (CAF) president, Ahmad Ahmad confirmed Guinea has agreed to host the African Nations Cup (AFCON) in 2025 instead of the 2023 edition. Ahmad, who was on a visit to Guinea, along with FIFA president Gianni Infantino, said Guinea’s President Alpha Condé had agreed to a delay in

Egypt To Host AFCON 2019

Egypt have been awarded the rights to host the 2019 AFCON tournament after the Confederation of African Football(CAF) confirmed after a meeting of their executive commitee in Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday. CAF deemed Cameroon unfit for the tournament due to delays over their preparations with the Africa Cup Of Nations. which was


Flying Eagles skipper Musa Muhammed said Cote d’Ivoire players begged him to throw away his second-half penalty in Saturday’s final AYC Group A match in Mbour.The penalty goal, the third by the right fullback at Senegal 2015, drew the Flying Eagles level at 2-2 and eventually eliminated the Ivorians from

Avram Grant leads Black Stars into final amid chaotic scenes

Equatorial Guinea’s Africa Cup of Nations dream came to a disappointing end amid more shameful scenes in Malabo on Thursday night. The hosts have lit up this tournament, performing footballing miracles, backed by enthusiastic support. But as they exited at the semi-final stage, those same fans showed an uglier side, throwing

Kanoute banking on Keita

Former Mali international Frederic Kanoute feels that his country's hopes rest firmly on the shoulders of team veteran and talisman Seydou Keita. Mali will compete in Group D at this year's campaign, which features matches against the Ivory Coast, Guinea and Cameroon. The group has not been dubbed the group of death