Europa League

AS Roma beat Feyenoord to lift first Europa Conference League trophy

by: Evolve


Jose Mourinho and AS Roma won the Europa Conference League for the first time on Wednesday night, defeating Feyenoord 1-0.AS Roma beat Feyenoord to lift first Europa Conference League trophy

Nicolo Zaniolo’s intelligent finish gave the Italians the Europa Conference League, giving Jose Mourinho his fifth European trophy and the club’s first since 1961.

Nicolo Zaniolo notched the game’s only goal, clipping the ball over the keeper with finesse. His well-taken first-half goal was more than enough to beat Feyenoord in Tirana, Albania.

Former Manchester United defender Chris Smalling was outstanding in defence for Roma, enabling them to survive a second-half onslaught in Albania.

Tammy Abraham and Cyriel Dessers were both vying for the golden boot, but neither of them had an opportunity to score.

They couldn’t find back of the net until Zaniolo stole the show when he chipped the ball over Justin Bijlow.

All the same, Abraham had a chance to score, but Marcos Senesi stepped in to pull him back, and everyone saw it as a clear red card except for the referee and VAR.

Fortunately for Roma, it didn’t matter in Tirana because they held on until the final whistle.

Jose Mourinho became the first manager to win all three European Cups in UEFA history.





Background Image

Color Skin