Nigerian Football

Akwa United are NPFL 2020/21 Champions

by: Victor


The Nigeria professional league witnessed a frenetic ending yesterday evening as the promise keepers aka Akwa United, sealed off their first league title with 71 points(9 ahead of Nasarawa Utd) with a 5 star performance against MFM in front of over 20,000 fans.

Prior to match-day 37, due to the pandemic, fans were not allowed into the stadiums for league games but Akwa United got a waiver to allow a 50% capacity at the nest of champions for fans to witness history being made.

Akwa United who are yet to lose a game since match-day 30, grabbed the first goal via the boot of Christopher Atshimene in the 24th minute, 23 minutes later, an own goal from Mfm made it 2-0 going into the break.

The electrifying atmosphere at the nest of champions was intimidating and loud. Thousands of fans went into a frenzy as Mfon Udoh made it 3 in the 62nd minute. Atshimene later bagged a hattrick in the game ending the scores at 5-2.

The Kennedy Boboye inspired team scored 5 goals for the first time this season to clinch their first ever league win. Kennedy Boboye also becomes the first coach in the NPFL era to win the league with two different clubs. Akwa Ibom governor, Udom Emmanuel graced the historic ground breaking occasion.

The Uyo club will be Nigeria’s representative at the 2021/22 CAF champions league.




Background Image

Color Skin